Built on the low-lying estuary the place that the Gêba River flows in to the Atlantic, independent of the hectic traffic, Bissau is a low-key, unassuming capital. On the main artery through the airport towards the centre, ramshackle taxis and toca-tocas jostle for space with SUVs sporting international-aid-organisation decals. Crowds of clients at roadside markets have bit more elbow room. In earlier evening, the fading sunlight lends the crumbling colonial facades of Bissau Velho (Old Bissau) a bit of nostalgic glamour.
Generators set areas of the town trembling during the night, although, street lights or otherwise not, people get rid of their homes and gather at ramshackle bars. With few sights, per se, as well as a waterfront defined by several concrete jetties and decaying government ministries, Guine Bissau is better appreciated through the friendly welcome of the company's residents and moments of cultural connection - through food and drinks and being crammed inside back seat of an car.
Fortress in Bissau
Surrounded by imposing, if decomposing stone walls, this fort, originally inbuilt 1753, would be the headquarters with the Guinean military and off-limits to visitors. After dark, exercise caution when walking after dark fort, and that is off the southern end of Av Pansau Na Isna, plus the area close on the port.
The newly renovated presidential palace dominates Praça dos Heróis Nacionais Guine Bissau with the northern end of Av Amílcar Cabral. Damaged throughout the civil war, its graceful, neoclassical facade now incorporates modern features. Security is concered about photographers targeting towards a close-up.
Monument in Bissau
Three separate monuments to martyrs in the 1959 Pidjiguit Massacre when striking dockworkers were killed with the colonial police. August 3rd, the day on the event, is usually a national holiday. There's also a bust of Amílcar Cabral inside square.
Notable Building in Bissau
Greco-Roman-style building housing the Ministry of Justice.
Designed by way of a Portuguese architect and inbuilt 1945.